The Truth About Medium’s 100 Follower Policy

The Reason Why The 100 Followers Policy Will Change Medium Forever

D.J. Penilla
Evolve
3 min readOct 22, 2021

--

Photo by Min An from Pexels

The announcement of Medium’s new 100 follower policy shocked many writers on the platform; some were dismayed, some were untroubled, some were even overjoyed.

The thought of “monetizing followers” brushed the mind of already experienced medium writers. For the new writers, this is something that is just there and is the status quo.

Let’s be honest; the 100 follower policy is a double-edged sword. Policing and raising the standard of the works published on the platform is probably on the mind of the people who created the requirement. Although this is an excellent move by Medium’s administration, it also gives the writers, new and veterans alike, fear. The fear of having their income and livelihood be affected for the worse.

Before all this debacle, anyone outside of Medium could create an account and instantly have access to a community of readers and writers to make money by creating an article good enough to interest other members.

Many writers seek a place to express their thoughts and ideas, practice their craft, and be a part of a closely-knit society of literature junkies.

This ease and convenience also attracted a lot of people who were only looking for quick cash. In my opinion, this is why having a barrier of some kind is an excellent way to discourage people who don’t love the craft with passion.

I’m not saying earning money is not a valid reason to start writing, but great authors often become great because their work is a reflection of their soul; you can’t consistently pour your soul into something you’re not passionate about.

Photo by Christian Paul Del Rosario from Pexels

I discovered Medium while I was looking for a place to practice my writing and find a way to vent out my thoughts and musings. When I found out that Medium offers a partnership program, I was instantly hooked.

You see, I come from the Philippines. Most citizens here are considered below and just above the poverty line. I grew up in the slums, and I don’t go back there again. I also reflect on my past experiences and want to help less fortunate people fully realize their true potential; I can’t do that if I’m thinking about getting my next meal.

People whose only goal in life is to provide a decent home, regular meals, and a hopeful future for their family and loved ones are real. Heck, I’m one of those people. Being lucky enough to have excellent opportunities, I can’t let this go to waste.

I understand that writing is a long game, and I won’t make money in my immediate future, but I love writing. I love creating words and conveying my thoughts to others. I love reading and learning new things; I hope you are too.

In the end, I’m optimistic that Medium made the right choice to make this requirement.

Do you agree or oppose my argument?

Reply to this post so we can share thoughts and ideas on this controversial policy.

See you there

--

--

D.J. Penilla
Evolve
Writer for

Finding himself by writing articles about productivity, books, and other social issues. Donate a coffee: https://ko-fi.com/djpenilla