Shortform

Why I Love Mornings

It’s my favorite time of day

srstowers
Evolve
Published in
Nov 22, 2021

--

Image by israelbest from Pixabay

It’s nearly eight a.m., and this is the first thing I’ve written. It’s been an unusual morning. I slept in, then had to go next door to take care of my sister’s cats and houseplants.

Normally, I get up at five. My coffee maker has a timer, and it starts brewing at 4:45. When the coffee maker beeps, I crawl out of bed, turn the heat up in my cabin, pour a cup of coffee, and sit at my computer. I work on my novel first, then open Medium.

I love the quiet. At five a.m., the rest of the world doesn’t even exist yet. It’s just me and the cats, coffee and words. I think better at five a.m. The light is kinder.

The first hour of the day is the hour of hope.

Speaking of coffee, want to buy me one?

--

--

srstowers
Evolve

high school English teacher, cat nerd, owner of Grading with Crayon, and author of Biddleborn.