LIFE

Winter

The Evolve challenge

Christine Morris Ph.D.
Evolve

--

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

When my family lived in Germany, I loved winter. My Opa made us a sled, and we would pull it to the top of the gentle slope and laugh all the way down.

We had three feet of snow most winters. We played in it, dressed in knitted bonnets and mittens. My Oma’s cooking was wonderful, and the cellar was filled with preserved fruits and vegetables.

In Germany, Christmas gifts are exchanged on the evening of Christmas Eve. This meant I had a birthday on the 25th and my birthday presents were on a different day.

We moved to England and winter was grey and raining, with snow now and then. The highlight was going to Germany for Christmas. My Dad would drive for twenty four hours.

Now I count until the Solstice and then rejoice in every two minute longer day of light. It is not really noticeable until the 6th of January. From then, each day is a move toward more light and the warmth of spring.

--

--

Christine Morris Ph.D.
Evolve

A life lived deliberately. Degrees earned. Experience. Poet, traveler, living with life limiting illness. ko-fi.com/SharingWords.