Winter In New York City

Evolve Winter Competition

Christina DeFeo
Evolve

--

Photo by Ibrahim Boran on Unsplash

Around this time of year when the days become shorter, the nights longer, and the temperatures colder, the coats, mittens, scarves, and boots all make their return. Around this time of year, when outside activities become less demanding, a hustle and bustle indoors increases. Around this time of year, native New Yorkers are all about the business and hibernation until the summer fun is upon us once again.

NYC experiences all four seasons. For a part of my childhood, I assumed the world experienced all four seasons too and was in awe once I learned the truth. I needed wardrobes for each one and living in Brooklyn meant limited closet space. Every fall my mom, sisters, and I cleaned the house, switched out curtains, changed decor and prepared the winter clothes. This meant taking them out of the storage bins, washing them (even though we washed them before closing them up) and filling the contents with our summer wear. The bins went back into closets and under beds until the season changed again.

Some particularly like this time of year because the pressures of being outside and social are no longer trying to bust down your door. Snuggling under your blankets binge watching SVU, worst tattoos, freestyles, comedy skits, Tik Toks, DIYs, meal ideas, and every other distraction becomes acceptable until the…

--

--

Christina DeFeo
Evolve

Let’s play a game. Can you learn about me through my stories?