Umit, 25

The Goal Getter: Umit, 25, tech salesman

Umit tells us how Pokémon taught him his first lesson about making money: You’ve got to know why you’re doing it.

Published in
2 min readAug 3, 2017

--

“When I was around 9 years old, I was a big fan of Pokémon. The place I lived in, we had a bunch of neighbours with kids my age, and whoever had the best Pokémon card was the coolest kid on the block. I thought, why not create something myself that I could sell to make money for Pokémon? So I went to a shop where they sold small beads and stuff and I started making bracelets that I could sell to my mom’s friends. I only bought the beads that you could pretty much put a string through, so there was no sort of talent needed for that. Some of them I wouldn’t even tie up because they wouldn’t fit people, so they had to pretty much tie them on themselves and then wear them forever. I don’t think my bracelets were so good, but because I was cute, or because I was a good salesperson, I would sell out easy. And then I would go buy Pokémon cards. That’s how I learned about money.”

What’s your money for? Sign up with Evree to give your money a purpose and meet more Goal Getters like Umit. We could use a smart cookie like you.

Interviews have been lightly edited for length and clarity.

--

--