Victor, 22

The Goal Getter: Victor, 22, new grad

Now that he’s graduated, Victor’s getting a sense of how he needs to manage his money. He tells us how he avoids the takeout trap.

Esther Lee
Published in
2 min readAug 21, 2017

--

“I guess I was pretty privileged growing up because my family supported me, so most of the money I earned in high school was just disposable income. Now, I finally graduated and I’m starting to take on more financial responsibility. I haven’t been spending as much money lately. I’m trying to save and work. I’m not shopping. I’m not eating out. I pack a lunch everyday. Once you start paying for everything, you realize that it’s hard to make money and save up and also go out and do things you enjoy. You have to find ways where you can save money even if it’s not a lot. Food is a big one, because if you’re going out to eat everyday, you’re going to be spending you know, upwards of fifty bucks a day, but if you go to the grocery store and buy some ingredients to make a sandwich or cook a meal, you end up saving half or even more of what you would be spending.”

What’s your money for? Sign up with Evree to give your money a purpose and meet more Goal Getters like Umit. We could use a smart cookie like you.

Interviews have been lightly edited for length and clarity.

--

--