My Paris City Guide

What to do and to avoid if you’re visiting for the first time.

Sophie Aguado
EVROPA

--

Paris has always been part of my life, and I love it with all its grandeur and flaws. I grew up in the Parisian suburb near Versailles and my beloved grandmother lived in a tiny apartment behind the Musée d’Orsay. As a young adult, I have lived in the 1st arrondissement, the 14th, the 15th, the 17th, the 18th, and the 19th. I moved back to the suburbs when I got pregnant, but visiting Paris as a tourist on weekends with my family brings me a lot of joy and I never get tired of it.

Me in my tourist outfit with a delighted look on my face
The writer in a tourist outfit with a delighted look on their face

When my American coworkers come to Paris, they usually ask for advice on places to visit and nice restaurants. Everyone coming to Paris could benefit from recs, so here we are!

Bear in mind the food places I recommend are those I like, I have simple tastes, so forget about Emily in Paris vibes. But my recs will make you feel good and at home.

Before we start

I added Google Maps links for all the places I recommend, this way you can have this story open on your phone during your trip and quickly find your way.

If menus from restaurants were available, I also linked them for more convenience , they may not be up-to-date forever but at least it’ll give you an idea. Maybe I’ll remove them after a while if a…

--

--