The First #ExactChange Casualty: La Croix Sparkling Water.

John D. Freyer
Exact Change

--

I am a longtime shopper at the ALDI’s and #ExactChange just made me realize that they raised the price of La Croix Sparkling Water by $1 a 12 pack. It’s bad enough that La Croix started selling 8 packs for the same price as 12, but for ALDI’s to sell La Croix for the same price as every other retail store, is a sad day in hydration history. I guess it’s back to thier store label bubbles for me… “Belle Vie” which sort of looks like La Coix in that way that all ALDI’s labels look and sound like the original name brands.

According to VOX and the AV Club the latest obsession with this Midwest brand comes out of the writers rooms in Los Angeles. But I think it originates a few steps behind those rooms to Dave’s Foxhead Bar in Iowa City, which is home to the Iowa Writers Workshop. They are appropriately a cash only establishment (Exact Change anyone?) & have always had cans of La Croix in their beer fridge. I learned early on in my drinking days that hydration was the secret to success at heavy drinking. So, my go to order in those days was a Jameson’s on the rocks with a beer back and a can of La Croix, rinse and repeat… ad infinititem until I reached my lifetime quota.

Now I just order La Croix and have worked to get the art spaces in the RVA to have some variation of it on hand at openings. Turns out I’m not alone, the Pollack Society now serves more La Croix than beer at thier events! Who knew!

--

--