M & S Auto, Richmond, VA

#ExactChange

John D. Freyer
Exact Change
Published in
2 min readDec 26, 2017

--

Wagih is the owner of M & S Auto and Welding and has been my mechanic for the past 5 years. I met him in 2013 when he inspected a 2001 Subaru Forester that I wanted to buy from a friend of mine. Friends, Friends; Buisness, Buisness was ringing in my head as I drove the car into his shop. Wagih checked all the major stuff, asked me how much I was going to pay for the car and shrugged and said “It’s OK.

It was the summer of the Arab Spring and Wagih was listening to internet BBC radio coverage from Egypt. He is Coptic Christian from Egypt and has been in the United States since 2009 and he was very hopeful for his country, but wary of the uncertainty, well deserved warriness from today’s vantage point.

Last week I brought my Subaru back to Wagih to do a final oil change before I sold it back to my friend. Michael Perrone sold it to me 5 years ago when he was moving to Qatar and no longer needed a car. He recently bought a church in Vermont and decided to buy his Subaru back even with it’s 50,000 additional miles and a new collection of minor dents and scratches.

Michael Perrone and John Freyer swapping plates on the Subaru — 12/22/2018

Wagih changed the oil, topped the fluids and reset all the warning lights and sent me on my way. Having participated in a few of my projects, including Free Ice Water and Free Hot Coffee, he was happy to accept 50 Sagagewea coins as payment in full for my final Subaru service call.

See this review in the wild on google maps: https://goo.gl/maps/ZGVX28LwF1z

--

--