2018 Ruby on Rails 5 on AWS

Andrew WC Brown
ExamPro
Published in
1 min readSep 19, 2018

I think Rails is great and I want people to keep using it, so I thought I would write an end-to-end tutorial series to show you how you can make the best of Rails on AWS

Syllabus

Local Development Environment

  • Part 1 Configure Amazon Linux 2
  • Part 2 Installing Rails, Postgres and Redis
  • Part 3 Mounting Host Folder to Guest
  • Part 4 Make SSH into VirtualBox Painlesss

Embracing AWS for Rails

  • Part 1 Replacing Paperclip and RMagick for Lambda and Sharp
  • Part 2 Replacing Device with Amazon Cognito
  • Part 3 Replacing Sidekiq with SQS
  • Part 4 Replacing Sendgrid for SES

Putting Rails into Production

  • Part 1 Configuring RDS
  • Part 2 Provisioning EC2 with Amazon Linux 2
  • Part 3 Blue / Green Deployment
  • Part 4 Rotation Log Files
  • Part 5 Continuous Deployment with CodePipeline

--

--

Andrew WC Brown
ExamPro

I have an unhealthy obsession with web-development.