Why are we all so serious about life? Here’s 1 super simple way to find joy today.

laura black
Excavating your life
3 min readAug 24, 2017

--

I apologize. I’ve been waaaaay too serious lately with all my articles and social media posts about how to find your purpose and meaning. Sheesh. I forgot that LIFE IS SUPPOSED TO BE FUN.

I study it like it was a final exam in the game of life. My face gets that serious scowl. My body tightens up like I’m about to get gut punched. I walk around assessing every thought I have.

ENOUGH! Today as I was walking in the woods and doing all the above, I snapped out of it. I was given a message as sometimes happens to me.

“QUIT BEING SO SERIOUS, LAURA.”

We wrap ourselves in a cloak that tries to hide anything we might be feeling or thinking. We wear our illnesses. We hide behind our fears. We believe it’s all safer than to actually act happy. (Truly happy, not that fake happy we sometimes do when we think we’re supposed to.)

So here is the answer for us all. It’s really time to change our perspective on how to live a life of purpose and joy.

ACT SILLY.

John Cleese and his Ministry of Silly Walks, walk. Try it!

Do 1 thing today that is so outside your realm of correctness and stoicism that it makes you laugh out loud at yourself.

No one else even has to see you do it. If it’s silly and audacious enough, it’ll work without anyone else around.

Here are a few ideas to get your started:

Yes, they are completely silly and ridiculous and that’s the point. Break out for 3 seconds of your serious life and find some pure unadulterated JOY.

And please please please, tell me what you did and how you felt. I really want to collect these fun moments and feel your joy growing as mine did when I remembered life doesn’t have to be so stinkin’ serious all the time.

Extra credit photo of me (on left) and a friend acting silly. We laughed for 20 minutes when we did this. And we felt GREAT!

--

--

laura black
Excavating your life

Searching for that “something more” by being present, tuned in, open and creative. I love writing, marketing & helping make the world a better place.