How not to prospect on LinkedIn

Ilan Kasan
AI and Automation for Sales and Marketing

--

I get several unsolicited messages on LinkedIn a week and I personally have no issue with that. It is the new way of selling. Twenty years ago, people knocked on your door. Today, they knock on your inbox.

Recently I got this LinkedIn message from a person (i do not know personally) with whom I recently connected with:

Thanks for connecting Ilan
You have got an impressive profile. I found synergies in the work we both do.
I want to to introduce our company and understand how we can add value to your organization. When do you suggest we can connect on call ?

The person found synergies in the work we both do and, apparently can add lots of value to my company. It’s an offer I cannot refuse :-)

I just wish I knew what the synergies are and value he can provide. Not one word about what his company does, benefits, their value proposition and why he is contacting me.

Not sure what the sender expects me to do. Obviously there is not enough information to make a decision and I will not research him and his company.

I actually responded — believe it or not…with candid feedback but he did not win my business.

When sending a cold email or message always start with Why → What….and maybe how!

Based on this original post: https://www.exceed.ai/how-not-to-prospect-on-linkedin/

--

--

Ilan Kasan
AI and Automation for Sales and Marketing

CEO and Co-Founder at Exceed.ai, Conversation Automation for Marketing and Sales