Do you have a Fixed Mindset or a Growth Mindset?

MindfulSuite Newsletter #1: Adopting a growth mindset to accelerate your personal improvement

Terry Xu
Exceeding Expectations
7 min readDec 22, 2019

--

The most life-changing mindset I learned in the past five years is “Growth Mindset.” It’s from the book “Mindset” by Dr. Carol Dweck — a renowned professor of Psychology at Stanford University.

I had read some self-help books before I came across “Growth Mindset” but still struggled with motivation and self-criticism. Deep down, I didn’t quite believe I could change the trajectory of my life. After I practiced thinking with a Growth Mindset, I gained the power to effect changes for the first time in my life.

If this is something you can relate to, please keep reading. Or if you know someone who is struggling with motivation, maybe you can find a way to help.

With a growth mindset, you can continue to grow without self-limiting thoughts

Growth Mindset vs Fixed Mindset

To discuss “Growth Mindset,” we need to talk about the current mindset many people have, five-year-younger I included, a fixed mindset.

--

--