Eminence

A poem

Valentine Nnebe
Excellent Pages
2 min read6 days ago

--

(Max Harlynking — Unsplash)

A pauper is the custodian of lack and entitled to the shine on a bankrupt plate. I lingered in the realms of penury underneath skies that denied me the fortune of favour. My pain was irksome as it racked my fragile frame so I mourned in the reflection of pity.

Joy was strapped motionless so I rocked and rolled in the heat of my bitter hostilities. My smile was warped to mimic the guise of pretence and I was a ridiculous clown to adopt a distinguished mien.

I ruled the perimeter of slovenly spaces and my sack hung across my shoulders with the attitude of unmistakable squalor. My grimy fingernails were habitual for scavenging rubbish dumps as I prized the excellence of damp, mouldy food scraps.

Certainly, I was the image of a write-off narrative and the object meted the fury of Omnipotence. My eyes mourned at the justice of the skies and my agonies were pointed to pierce through the thickness of a starry assembly.

This shabby frame adorned the sloppiness of filthy rags yet my confidence walked with the swagger of a dignified personality. I leashed my wrathful sorrows and muzzled the mouths of those ferocious afflictions.

I disbelieved the harbinger of doom and silenced the utterance of a perilous portend. My staunch and unwavering faith was lethal to implement the principle of reversals so the darkness was startled by the emancipation of light.

Now I kiss the majesty of beautiful days, estimating the incomprehensible state of my infinite wealth. I strut in the composure of royalty and align pompously with the coordinates of affluence and bespoke splendour.

I spectate my brimming treasure trove to see the death of my miseries and the crucifixion of scarcity. My mouth is to birth a howl as I flail my arms in the air for being the icon of material aggrandizement — a lord of lands, estates and countless posh luxuries.

My taste drowns in the profusion of opulence and I’m wet in the rain of prosperity. I reel and swerve from the intoxication of plenitude now I stroke the texture of unquantifiable substance. I retain honour and grandeur as my rearguards to supervise my flourishing nobility.

Now I’m acquainted with greatness as I comport myself with the utmost decorum. I smile from sharing the reputation of kings and renowned business magnates. The universe has altered my pathetic lot so I’m garbed with the embellished robe of prestigious eminence.

© Valentine Nnebe 2024
All Rights Reserved

--

--

Valentine Nnebe
Excellent Pages

✫Registered Nurse by the paper (1st class honors) ✫Aspiring Writer ✫Word enthusiast ✫Home grown Nigerian. I join letters to words and statements for fun.