If I See the Light Again

A poem

Valentine Nnebe
Excellent Pages
2 min read1 day ago

--

(Hossein Azarbad — Unsplash)

Let me drink from the enormity of your heart and fatten my soul from your quintessential pleasantness. You gave my world the identity of Paradise and flushed the panels of my being with all the energetic currents of joy and intoxicating thrills.

We were a formidable pair driven by high-octane propulsions and fiercely spirited to paddle towards shared beliefs. Our motivation never fell short of the bull’s eye, and ambition and tenacity saw us capture prized, coveted targets.

Your expertise tucked you indoors in quiet spaces as you fiddled with fabrics for the magnificence of phenomenal outcomes. You epitomized the tranquillity of sparkling, reflective lakes with a demeanour — guiltless and saintly.

The wealth of your heart was to birth delight, and your concern was a majestic presence. You inundated my days with company and surged my moments with such sensational attention. The habituations of your character are inclined to unfeigned love and much devoted respect.

Your charming beauty was the surreality of Heaven and the vivid splendour of idyllic spaces. We let our dialogue linger at astronomical lengths so its volume surpassed exponential metrics. Our skill was to maximize time and chat to the uttermost.

I melted from impassioned gestures and the vibes infiltrating from an undefiled soul. The slices of my moments were richer than clouds laden with moisture, and invested in me was the zeal to recompense your untold goodness.

But now I’m punished by a course gone awry and by the rigidity of unchangeable events. I watch my days crawl with the bankruptcy of fondness as my heart grieves the tenure of those senseless actions making me wallow in remorse and sore contrition.

I’ve afflicted the shine of an enchanting, fantastical rose, stripped its glorious petals and muddied the beauty of its pride. I’m culpable for my grief and entitled to these agonizing, heart-rendering tortures.

The seasons are pale in vitality and awfully bland leaving me broken by conditions cast in concrete. The concept of distance settles with a harrowing impression and all the ways of the impossible come to me in a pessimistic encounter.

May passion be arrayed in immortality and let affectionate hearts burn with inextinguishable flames. My scars reflect my mistakes and the numberless ways I should avoid damning, apologetic actions, but I’ll thrive if I see the light again.

© Valentine Nnebe 2024
All Rights Reserved

--

--

Valentine Nnebe
Excellent Pages

✫Registered Nurse by the paper (1st class div) ✫Aspiring Writer ✫Word enthusiast ✫Home grown Nigerian. I join letters to words and statements for fun.