Sterling Affections

A poem

Valentine Nnebe
Excellent Pages
2 min readJul 21, 2024

--

(Lauren Rader — Unsplash)

Confirm your fondness to the edifice of my soul and open the treasuries of Heaven for a wild, careless inundation. You’re the excellence descending from the fountains of Paradise and the bestowal ripe from the temple in ethereal spaces.

I was mauled by the earth and watched the vessel of my heart shrink in caustic, savage atmospheres. I walked a mile and bled a mile and my burden was to shoulder the humungous weight of frustration crumbling the structure of my elegant, masculine frame.

The skies withdrew in absence and I watched my pristine soul melt in the fervency of its own heat. The joy of the opposite sex is more rapturous than the finest ecstasies of Paradise but I was to merit this stark, morbid deprivation.

Loneliness emerged as my wrathful assailant, and every hour, I relieved the torment prior. I saw the vacuous spaces in my room coronate me king with the crown of solitude and place on me the vesture of reclusiveness.

I purchased my sorrows with the coin of misery and glued a frown on a face once so cheerful and delightsome. Thrills never absconded faster, and pleasures were pleased to fizzle and dissipate like wisps of smoke.

The magnificence of feminity was rarer than the purest gold and I cuddled the presence of uneventful moments on many lonesome nights. The misfortune of the galaxies sat on the receptacle of my soul so I paid the costly emoluments of bitter estrangement.

But you’re my darling, my belle I couldn’t resist a million times over. You shine like speckled, scintillating lights on the fabric of the galaxies and you’re imbued with the habituation of love as you make affection a repetitive trend.

You’re the queen from the fantastical realms above and you adorn beauty in varied, distinctive assortments. The finesse of your hands has abolished the laws of loneliness so I find comfort all over the jurisdiction of your ubiquitous presence.

I’m underwhelmed in the midst of strange women for you’re my peculiar delight and the sure embodiment of perfection and iconic bliss. So kiss me and let me feel the tinge of those flavourful lips, swept into a wild euphoria — tall and inebriating.

You endorse my masculinity and sculpt out the authentic man in me. Therefore I do little to tread on solo paths now I ally with my exquisite idol. I’ve refined the purest of love so we drink, and the magnanimity of my heart is to offer you my sterling affections.

© Valentine Nnebe 2024
All Rights Reserved

--

--

Valentine Nnebe
Excellent Pages

✫Registered Nurse by the paper (1st class div) ✫Aspiring Writer ✫Word enthusiast ✫Home grown Nigerian. I join letters to words and statements for fun.