The Jurisdiction of Devils

A poem

Valentine Nnebe
Excellent Pages
2 min read1 day ago

--

(Sander Sammy — Unsplash)

I had the joy of paradise satiate my longings as I basked in atmospheres loyal with infallible promises. Circumstances were pleased to lace me with eventful joys so I roamed about in the surest of delights.

My steps had springs making me bounce and gallop like sturdy, jubilant stallions. I was acquainted with love in the most unlikely places and embraced comfort in the den of my vile, wrathful antagonists.

I saw the future with an optimistic lens and my anticipations were draped in the pattern and charisma of elite royalty. The perspectives of my senses wore colour and I swam where euphoria raved in all the beautiful hues of dazzling resplendence.

The excellence of the morning emerged as pride and the finest, and I watched the evening sun sink down the horizon with all the majesty of sunset. I kept my memories to worship adorable thoughts and reminisce on iconic, unmistakable pleasures.

My existence roamed in paradisal blisses and never did I entertain an afterthought. I loved the feel of immersive thrills and the notion of walking with distinguished, privileged steps. I was the helmsman, captain and authoritarian figure behind my life’s circumstances.

So frozen and awestruck was I to consider my immeasurable greatness and exceptional favours — I was utterly gobsmacked by my titanic feats and hugely impressed by my accolades until the events of time turned into a new ruling and the chapter of a wrecking dispensation.

Now I’m a sojourner in unknown terrains, utterly ousted from the glamorous boundaries of comfort. I tread where evil abounds and fiendish terrors are pleased to lurk and stalk in nooks and dense thickets.

All my life, I’ve never been more haunted and scarily petrified. My nights are with an inundation of horrifying nightmares and I anticipate the ghosts of the dark at each quarter of the night. I’m perplexed but can’t scream lest I complicate my horrid terrors.

I remember the overarching presence of security and a love so energetic to drown me in the abysmal floods of affection. But now I’m among hideous, tyrannical dictators who subscribe to morbid fear and the pattern of demonic cruelties.

An evil omen lingers in the skies and mercy is outlawed on such grounds. Eerily haunting screams are pleased to pierce through the silence and speak with the audacity to torment so this contemporary realm is within the jurisdiction of devils.

© Valentine Nnebe 2024
All Rights Reserved

--

--

Valentine Nnebe
Excellent Pages

✫Registered Nurse by the paper (1st class honors) ✫Aspiring Writer ✫Word enthusiast ✫Home grown Nigerian. I join letters to words and statements for fun.