The Luxuries of Love

A poem

Valentine Nnebe
Excellent Pages
2 min readMay 11, 2024

--

(Raamin Ka — Unsplash)

I was settled in the midst of toxic spectators who were medalled for hurling belittling insults so the atmosphere was permeated with foul nastiness. They made me the hybrid of a laughingstock and a despicable moron.

The joy of affection ruled the entire planet but the perimeter of my vicinity. I was lonely to walk out and solitary to creep in, for the laws of estrangement were enacted for my settlement and identity.

The spaces of my heart sat hollow as I cringed from the formidability of my apprehensions. The portend of doom stood strong, and assaulting ghosts were sure not to budge. My eyes widened before the graphic face of terror and grim molestation.

I burrowed through the thicket of my thoughts for the reality of feminine marvels and the spark only womanhood could ignite. Surely, I’ll savour the thrill of electric kisses and caress the strength of erotic passions.

My grit made me confrontational to fight the odds and punish pessimistic tendencies. I saw myself in the intimacy of wedlock with the consummation of marital vows. My heart fantasized imaginary kisses and sculpted the very form of feminine idealism.

Fury was wild to settle in me so I expelled looming curses and exorcised demons levitating in space. So I love you, my belle, for the immensity of bliss which you’re quick to funnel into my heart and for the profusion of your countless, therapeutic therapies.

You’re a puzzle for the mind and a conundrum too hard to demystify. Yet you’re a purveyor of the excellencies of Heaven and a merchant for much unsullied, rhapsodic joys.

You galvanize my soul with ripe, phenomenal emotions, engraving your significance on the tablets of my heart. I thought I knew grandiosity till we eloped to interstellar heights and mingled among vast, cosmic pieces.

Excitement enhances my perspective for a polished, clearer vista. Therefore you’ve brought me to see the horizon and to revel on picturesque terrains so I resonate with the picture of contentment in full-fledged colour.

You’ve unleashed your kisses so they’re undisciplined to inundate me with raw, sentimental weights. Now I swing in more directions than a crazy pendulum, harnessing all the powers of affection because I’m bestowed the luxuries of love.

© Valentine Nnebe 2024
All Rights Reserved

--

--

Valentine Nnebe
Excellent Pages

✫Registered Nurse by the paper (1st class honors) ✫Aspiring Writer ✫Word enthusiast ✫Home grown Nigerian. I join letters to words and statements for fun.