A Michelin Star’s daughter follows her hidden fashion dreams

Indecision is sometimes a decision: Short Story

Tricia Small
Excerpts of a life
4 min readSep 22, 2023

--

Image of young lady painting

“If you want to go I will not stop you, I think you should do what you think is right for you. It’s my job to support you.”

Since she moved in, she found herself on the phone with her mom almost nightly. As her voice rang through the empty room Veronica stared into the wall she just painted. This room sold her on the apartment. The light was making her black and white pattern even more bold.

In the last three days her mind was consumed by the Fashion Designer offer from K.D. Brieson. Although she felt it could be a potential fit for her career she was hesitating. She hoped that she would feel more sure by now but as she stood taking in the bold pattern she felt more sure about how much she loved the wall than the job.

“Ronnie are you there?”

“Hey mom, yeah, I’m here. What did you cook today?”

Veronica walked into the bathroom, unbuckled her overalls and sat down to pee. The sound of the stream filled the room and echoed.

“Today I made a one pot, some veggie rice and fish with cucumber salad. Your father asked for seconds so I suppose it was good. It didn’t take long either. I had the veggies ready to go and the fish was easy. I fried it and finished it off in a sauce.”

“Oh mom, that sounds delicious!”

As Veronica washed her hands she looked at her face in the mirror and realized it was covered with black and white paint freckles. Against her brown skin she looked like she was ready for a photoshoot.

“Mom if I take this gig I could be in Japan for three four months. How are you going to manage things with Dad? I know it’s a small operation but managing all those doctors and nurses on your own is another thing. You know I feel like that’s my part. Sometimes I genuinely wonder how some people picked medicine as their profession.”

“Veronica your father and I will manage. We are not your problem or your burden. Knowing that you’ll be living your life is comfort in a way you can’t understand. If this is in your heart to do please do it my love. It will make us both so happy. Plus you know we could do with a break from your bossy behind!”

She was still looking in the mirror, this time her reflection looked like it was stuck in a surprise face emoji. Seeing this spurred on a loud chuckle which seemed to let out tension that her body must have been building up.

“I have to give my answer by tomorrow. I’ll let you know what I decide. I’m too conflicted right now. I’m going to paint the other two walls and see if that helps. Thanks for talking it through mom, I love you. Give Dad a kiss for me?”

“Ok baby, we support whatever you decide. You’re a big woman now, you’re in demand an ting, ting, tingssss! So proud of you babygirl. Call me tomorrow and just know whatever you decide we are 100% behind. Live your dream life honey! Ok, love you, buh-byeee!”

As she stood facing the white living room wall Veronica lit her joint and decided to let go of the big decision for an hour. She put on her Relaxing Vibes Playlist and started pouring the blue paint. She already prepped the wall with painter’s tape. She selected blue and pink for the rest of this room. Top half pink, bottom half blue. Watching the paint take over the white wall with each stroke of her brush she relaxed. She found herself lost.

The light bounced off the blue and made it brilliant. A few more strokes and the world disappeared in the vibe she created. Once the edges and borders were done, she picked up the roller and saturated it in the paint. As she rolled, she enjoyed this nothingness. She only knew this feeling in these moments. Painting this white wall pink with this roller in her hand was her euphoria.

The pleasure painting this wall gave her was unlike anything else. She knew she loved it. No questions in her mind. It absolutely opened her up to unyielding joy. As she fell deeper in the fun of her wall she felt clarity and ease. In this space she thought about the Fashion Designer opportunity and knew her decision. She walked over to her laptop and replied to Steve with her certainty.

It was time, she was ready to back herself in this wicket and make her childhood dream a reality. Facing the wall proudly she wondered what name she would give her company. Elated, she embraced herself and said,

“Challenge accepted Ronnie, let’s live this dream!”

--

--

Tricia Small
Excerpts of a life

I'm a writer, recruiter and tennis enthusiast. If any of these topics interest you, follow me & Subscribe!