Conversation between War and Peace

Which has more relevance in the world?

Tricia Small
Excerpts of a life
4 min readJun 25, 2024

--

Stop War, Rise Together

With the spoils of War spilling over, War said to Peace,

“Aren’t you tired of fighting to have relevance in this world?”

Peace replied, “Aren’t you tired of fighting?”

“I fight and give the people what they want. My wars create history which they like to repeat,” War said with bold pride and conviction.

It was true. The craft of war had a stronghold on mankind since BCE. The current state of the world reflected War’s power. Between Russia and Ukraine, Israel/America and Palestine the point War made was clear.

War stood up and continued,

“Don’t you see how intent on killing each other they are over things they couldn’t possibly own. Land! What is land in a world they simply appeared in. It existed before their arrival. Like stone on the ground they want to own it. My partnership with Greed has kept my demand high. Peace! What value do you even have anymore!”

Peace stood looking on and allowed silence to brew and linger in the air.

“For God’s sake say something!” War demanded feeling ignored. “Do you think you’re better than me, you should know by now I won’t be insulted”

In anger War brought the bombing of women and children into view. Proud of the indiscriminate nature of war, War continued,

“Don’t you see the power I wield with people. They see restrictions less and less. From Hiroshima to now their minds are consumed with assisting my efforts on earth. Security and Protection have served my domain well. Your relevance has disappeared before your eyes. Even now you can’t defend your lackluster performance. My wars have rendered you speechless.”

Once again, War paused waiting for Peace to chime in. Peace kept its eyes on the bombing of women and children. The aftermath moved Peace to tears. Walking over to War Peace said,

“Don’t you see what I see. Come look. I’ll show you.”

Zooming into the aftermath there were people running towards the bomb site.

“Don’t you see they are running into danger. That’s your danger. Why would they do that? If the absence of war is peace and you are present, you are there, why would they run into war?”

The question made no sense to War. The quizzical look on War’s face made Peace smile, Peace said,

“You don’t understand what I am, do you? How could you think you’ve made me irrelevant when you don’t even see me when I am in front of you. Look again and see”

This time Peace brought Shifa hospital into view. The destruction of War again was everywhere. The ratio of people to doctors overwhelmed the medical system. They all were hanging on by a thread.

Peace asked War, “Why don’t they just kill themselves. I’m sure some of them want to but what’s keeping the majority of them from doing that?”

Peace now faced War seeking an answer. War was now the one remaining silent. Peace continued,

“My work may not be as elaborate as yours but that’s just because of where I reside. You are an outward manifestation of hostility. You represent brute force. You manipulate violence into being. This is your trickery. I reside on the inside. I am relied on in a way that helps them survive. I am untouchable. You cannot put me out because you cannot reach me. Once I am on the inside all you can do is disturb my dwelling from the outside.”

Peace paused and walked over to the side of war and said,

“Look, do you see what is happening in Palestine? Come here and look closely. Look at that refugee camp. Do you see the children playing? Look over there”

Now Peace was pointing to a group of women huddled around a makeshift fire. They were kneading flour and cooking it on an upside down iron dome.

“Listen” Peace said to War, “Can you hear that?”

They were singing. Peace proceeded,

“You’ve taken everything from them with your Security and Protection, Bombs and War and yet they sing. Why is that? Why have they the will to sing in such despair and desperation? Where does that come from?”

War was stomped by the point. More of a myopic thinker War could only sense that the earlier comments were a blunder somehow. Thinking it wise now to remain silent War said nothing more, so Peace continued.

“My work on the inside is not for show. They are why I will always exist. They long for me in times of War and together with Hope and Love we keep them alive. Your war tears them down, my peace builds them back up.”

Feeling a loss of might, War did what it does and conjured up Strife and Division. Making a presentation of all they accomplished War began feeling emboldened again. Just as before, Peace took the time to show reflections of the human spirit rising from the rubble, picking itself up and moving forward.

It became indisputable, Peace was valuable beyond compare. It was far more relevant than all the Wars in the world.

May peace be ever kept inside your heart where it can only be disturbed not lost.

Thanks for reading. I’ve been out of commission for a while now but I’m back and looking forward to reading your stories as well. Hope you all are doing well.

Clap, Comment, Subscribe

--

--

Tricia Small
Excerpts of a life

I'm a writer, recruiter and tennis enthusiast. If any of these topics interest you, follow me & Subscribe!