9 Reasons I Never Tried Liberal Christianity

I went straight from evangelical to atheist

Joe Omundson
ExCommunications

--

Photo by Matt Botsford on Unsplash

People who leave fundamentalist Christianity often transition into a more liberal form of the religion. They might hold that belief for the rest of their life, or it might be a transitional phase on the way out.

I never went through that stage. I left my faith because I’d grown skeptical of supernatural claims as a whole, so once I came to terms with my doubt, I immediately aligned more with agnostic atheism. After 13 years that hasn’t changed.

Sometimes liberal Christians have critiqued my decision to abandon Jesus instead of finding a more flexible approach.

To paraphrase:

You’re right, fundamentalist religion is bad, but that’s not true Christianity. Why stop believing in Jesus just because the Bible isn’t perfect and some believers do bad things? Jesus is still the truth, and liberal Christianity addresses your complaints; becoming an atheist was a tragic overreaction.

Today I’ll answer this criticism.

--

--