Photo by Milad Fakurian on Unsplash

How Critical Thinking “Destroys” The Bible

Virag Hars
ExCommunications
Published in
2 min readAug 24, 2023

--

Critical thinking destroys the core value of the Bible. By picking apart every detail and trying to come up with a naturalistic, non divine explanation, what is left? Faith is needed to understand God’s word. - My local priest

On a Sunday after Church my family invited the priest for lunch. We had a great conversation and since he knew that I was an Atheist, he asked me questions about why I left Christianity. I talked about critical thinking and questioning things to which he had a pretty interesting reply. He said that critical thinking took away the magic and divinity of the Bible. — Faith was the only thing keeping it all together.

I was confused since I thought that critical thinking was a good way of approaching things, however, he didn’t seem to believe the same. To him critical thinking had no place in his faith whatsoever. But then how did he determine whether his beliefs were true? Or, does he even care?

Sadly, I didn’t get the chance to elaborate on this further with him, however, I do have some things to add to his claim.

Firstly, if critical thinking makes the Bible less credible, why would someone still choose the uncertain a.k.a faith?

Also, if you know that digging deeper into the historical context of the Bible would make you question its validity, what does that say about your faith?

And lastly, if you claim that Christianity is the absolute truth, what do you base that on if you abandon critical thinking?

You can absolutely choose what convinces you. I chose Christianity because it’s the absolute truth. — My local priest

I understand that faith makes people believe all sorts of things without evidence, but isn’t that not the best way to approach things? Especially if you preach the so- called truth.

I don’t claim to know reality for what it actually is. However, I am definitely curious and willing to have an open mind to whatever happens to be the truth, even if I might never know.

Photo by Alex Shute on Unsplash

--

--

Virag Hars
ExCommunications

I am a University student who loves writing about religion, philosophy, music and languages.