In Defense of The Good Place

Recovering from Religion
ExCommunications
Published in
6 min readApr 29, 2021

--

Dying Out Loud — An RfRx talk with Dave Warnock

Submitted by Jenna Chiles

Photo by Diego PH on Unsplash

Since Covid-19 came to America, thoughts of death haven’t been far from my mind. Every day, I hear the shocking totals of fatalities and infection rates, and I can’t help but think that my family or I could be next. It’s almost paralyzing to imagine how the virus is lurking around, and I’m one grocery run away from it. It also has had me reevaluating things. I’ve started “coming out” more about my lack of spirituality; I’ve stopped worrying about maintaining relationships that haven’t been doing much for me; and I’ve put extra effort into the ones I do care about. As scary as Covid has been, I’ve been forced to think about what I want to do with my brief time on earth. Certain RFR videos have also helped me cope with the lack of control I feel during this pandemic. In his talk Dying Out Loud, Dave Warnock shares his personal story and how it shaped his message. Warnock spent more than 40 years in the evangelical church as an associate pastor. He raised his family of three in the church. At some point in this 40 year journey, he couldn’t think of any more reasons to believe in God any more. He saw the injustice in the world and felt more and more disillusioned with the “just” and “caring” God the Bible said exists. As he started his process of leaving his religion in 2010, Warnock’s friends and…

--

--

Recovering from Religion
ExCommunications

Has religion negatively affected your life? Find resources, live chat and phone support, Support Groups, and more at recoveringfromreligion.org.