It’s Hard to Watch Good People Struggle With Religion

The best people prop up the worst believers

Tony Russo
ExCommunications

--

Photo by Timothy Eberly on Unsplash

Everyone has their own definition of what it means to be a real Christian. Usually, people think of real Christians as the ones who agree with them, though this doesn’t solve anything.

When I wrote Dragged Into the Light, a book about Christians who believe the world is full of monsters, including and especially Reptilians in the halls of power, it was better shorthand to call them a cult than it was to call them a sect.

Still, I got more than a few notes from Christians who were a little offended to be lumped in with fringe, “not real Christian,” beliefs.

I get that, and although I knew it was a possibility as I was writing, I also wanted to at least start to have this conversation.

“Christian” has been beaten into meaningless, and as I see the frothing approach to divinity that seems to have taken hold, I wonder why good, honest people struggle so desperately to reimagine Christianity as a force for good.

Acting in Bad Faith

For me, real Christians don’t let their faith prevent them from being good. As more people use their very specific take on the Bible to sow discord in the culture and give their dogma the force of law, these…

--

--

Tony Russo
ExCommunications

Pencil-sharpening enthusiast, journalist, author of “Dragged Into the Light” https://amzn.to/3bLQ0Wi