My Double Life on the Way to Freedom from Religion

Hiding, stressing, fretting

Lora Dobreva
ExCommunications

--

Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

The most exhausting thing I’ve ever had to do was to hide from my fundamentalist Christian mother.

The need to be myself, combined with my access to the Internet, made sure that I’d rarely be completely cut off from the world. I continued to learn and grow, despite my oppressive religion.

But for many years, the thought my mom will never talk to me again if she finds out I’m not a good Christian had me hiding the music I listened to, the movies I watched, the relationships I formed, the band merch I bought, my writing hobby, and my opinions. The day was reserved for working and being Good Lora, while the night, until 3 in the morning, often involved Internet ‘sins’.

I don’t think there’s a uniform way for your life to evolve when you’re an Evangelical. There probably are people who didn’t cheat the rules, kept a strictly Christian media diet, and never went to the wrong places to do things with the wrong people.

Then there are people who lied about being this pure.

I’ve personally seen others in cycles of ‘sin’ and repentance, I’ve heard confessions of doing ministry and occasionally slipping into sin. How long does the average Christian spend sinless? How long does commitment to God…

--

--

Lora Dobreva
ExCommunications

I write about metal music, the ex-Christian experience, and LGBT issues. I co-host the Meowcore podcast. Insta: ditchqueenbg