Religious Trauma is Trauma

Recovering from Religion
ExCommunications
Published in
8 min readMay 6, 2022

--

Submitted by Andrew Pledger

Hello, my name is Andrew Pledger, and this is my story of religious trauma. My story is long and complex which is why I’ve been working on a book. This entry will leave out many details and cover the general overview of my experiences, and help people understand how I got here.

Restoration Counseling says, “Religious trauma is similar in symptoms to Complex-PTSD. Symptoms of RT include:

  • Negative beliefs about others
  • Low self-esteem
  • Struggle with emotional…

--

--

Recovering from Religion
ExCommunications

Has religion negatively affected your life? Find resources, live chat and phone support, Support Groups, and more at recoveringfromreligion.org.