We Will Remember Them…For Who They Were

Steve Ghikadis
ExCommunications
Published in
4 min readApr 19, 2024

--

Not, for who they wanted them to be.

Notice how the religious folks always want to claim people for their “side?” Even the unsavoury ones.

That’s as far as I’ll go on that today.

I’d like to vent my frustration over a specific day of the year, that is always co-opted by the type of people who feel it’s their duty to throw their own perspective on.

November 11th

Remembrance Day

I’m in Canada…a post-secular society. We do not have a state religion or a majority religious populace. If you breakdown the percentages of religiosity in Canada, the “nones” are the majority at 34.6%. Catholics make up 29.9% and the protestants are at 24.1%…But somehow, every year, 2 or 3 Christian denominations, throw their theological weight on the soldiers who fought and/or died for our country…and everyone in attendance.

Were some of those soldiers Muslim? Atheist? Buddhist? Hindu? Mormon? Yes, to all, and then some. But according to the groups that put these memorials on…they were all Christian. It’s basically an embarrassment to see the self-aggrandizing that happens at these ceremonies…especially in the major city centres.

Due to my line of work, I have to stand and stare at the crowd the entire time…as the readings, wreath laying, songs and prayers are all performed. I would say, from a quick count in my head that two thirds of the audience are not even bowing their heads during the invocation and subsequent prayers…and I would argue that some that are, are doing so for social reasons. I know, because I used to.

I was jumping for joy when I found out that Rememberance Day ceremonies were slated to be inclusive this past year. I was so excited, that finally, myself and many many others were going to be represented…just by keeping the religious inclinations out of it. Inclusivity means sharing the stage and not dedicating the day to a specific worldview. Having a neutral message that enables everyone to find something to hold onto for rememberance, would be such a welcomed and appreciated gesture. If you personally, want to pray or share a moment with your specific deity, all the power to you. Please just don’t make me share that moment with you…as it is meaningless to a lot of us out there. The day had arrived and as I took my place at the ceremony, I was looking forward to finally being embraced…

It didn’t happen.

Long story short, I was extremely. disappointed. Disappointed isn’t even a strong enough word for what I was feeling. Dread. Hopelessness. Disgusted.

Something to that effect.

From what I’ve experienced, a lot of religious organizations see sharing as an attack on their beliefs. It’s most likely because they’ve had the monopoly on pushing their narrative on society for so long…that giving up a bit of the glory, seems like a loss.

The 2023 Remembrance Day ceremony that I attended, will be the last one I attend, until inclusivity is respected.

Not only did they perform their usual schtick…they had a whole new purpose: Utterly humiliate those who wanted an inclusive ceremony. The speeches consisted of belittling those who don’t believe in the god of the bible. They even whined about the fact that they “weren’t allowed” to mention a god…even though, those weren’t the suggested conditions. All that was asked of them, was to include others and try to have a message that reached everyone…regardless of philosophical outlook.

Nope! Not gonna happen!

It was a lecture on how the only reason we were there in the first place, was that the Christian god created us. They left out the part about this entity creating war and genocide…and letting people die by the millions, but hey, what more could we expect at this point?

Then they played a song that I didn’t even know existed, called God Bless Canada. The chorus sounded like a francophone screaming “Canada” over “America” in the background. Again, embarrassing! Total face slapper! Too bad I had to stand there and look pretty. Every single speaker and preacher was verbally lashing out at the nonbelievers in the crowd and ultimately did my work for me.

Not to the result I was hoping for.

Unfortunately, they forced compassionate, honest and sincere attendees to remove themselves from future events. I’ve heard from so many people, through my local humanist group, that people were outraged.

Without a voice, we will not be returning to the cenotaphs during these specific times. On a day when we should be included, we are actively excluded with extreme prejudice. We will have to find a way to remember the sacrifices of these soldiers on our own.

Why can’t we just remember them for who they were?

Don’t worry, we will.

--

--

Steve Ghikadis
ExCommunications

Secular Humanist, married to a Christian…raising freethinkers. Let’s find ways to work together! All we have is each other ❤️