Changing Hearts

Last week, I found myself praying for a city I once hated and avidly trash-talked, so yeah, God can change people’s hearts.

David Szigetvari
Morning Texts
1 min readDec 9, 2019

--

Good morning!

Have you ever started to have a change of heart?

Despite maybe not even knowing, recognizing, or accepting it, oftentimes we can find out that we have all sorts of biases, prejudices, and things we hate, that we really shouldn’t.

For example, anyone who’s known me for any length of time knows that I used to talk trash about L.A.; I would hate coming here, complain about the driving, and mostly stay away from this city because of all the open-aired brokenness (and, again, the traffic).

However, just this last week, I found myself doing the strangest thing; as I was walking down the street to grab lunch, I found myself praying for this city, recognizing that this city is one that is filled with broken people and shattered dreams, full of souls just like you and me who just want to be somebody, yet were met with rejection.

If you go to virtually any major city, though you can certainly see the potential for humanity’s greatness, you will also undoubtedly witness its greatest brokenness and hurts and pains. God caught me off-guard and had me praying for this city, which I once hated, and I would say that’s plenty of evidence that He can change hearts.

God bless you, have a great day!

P.S. Pray for your city.

--

--