Gratitude Journaling

I wholeheartedly believe that the best way to have a great Thanksgiving season this year is to gift yourself a gratitude journal and put it to use.

David Szigetvari
Morning Texts
1 min readNov 27, 2019

--

Good morning, and happy Thanksgiving!

Have you found yourself at a loss for words when someone asks, “What are you thankful for?”

One of the best pieces of advice that I could ever give anyone is to simply get your hands on a gratitude journal and use it regularly.

A long time ago, I discovered a great quote that says, “Routine, in an intelligent man, is a sign of ambition.” The original author then goes on to explain that by disciplining yourself to follow a routine, you develop self-control, and are thereby successfully moving towards becoming a successful modern stoic.

Though my intent starting out was just to be generally happier in life, not to “discipline my passions,” I have found that a morning routine of simply writing down three things I am thankful for each day, when done consistently for any period of time, has caused great changes in my life, and likely would affects yours, too.

Does it mean you won’t complain about traffic or be bugged by it anymore? No, of course not. However, routinely writing down all the things you are thankful for will put you in a different headspace, where your threshold of tolerance grows and you develop a lot more strength and resilience.

So, hey, what are you thankful for today?

--

--