How to be Happy

Honestly, you really don’t need as much as you might think

David Szigetvari
Morning Texts
2 min readJun 19, 2019

--

Good morning!

Do little things still make you happy?

Yesterday was a fun day; I have a friend’s event coming up this weekend that I wanted to make a custom gift for, and I decided to reach out to a friend and ask if she could help me with painting. Sure enough, she happens to be a mini Michael’s, with art supplies overflowing her bedroom office area.

We got into painting, and even though I had an idea of what I wanted to do, I couldn’t quite figure out the direct roadmap to it, but we got all the supplies ready and started painting anyways. Below, you can see a picture of me working away at this majestic artwork (which ended up looking just about nothing like its work-in-progress version).

Yeah, I did end up bleaching my hair this weekend… Still unsure about how to feel.

Anyways, the painting experience was super fun, and even though I wouldn’t call myself an artist or take myself too seriously on the subject, I really did enjoy trying something new, and it did make me happy.

It didn’t cost me much, and it didn’t take too much time; it didn’t require a journey of a thousand miles or anything else that might be mystically construed as a necessity for happiness. I simply used the resources made available to me to do an activity I’ve never explored before, and it was fun.

Listen, you don’t need to buy a shiny new object or travel halfway across the globe to find happiness; seek out little projects that bring you enjoyment and have fun where you are; if you are always dwelling on what you don’t have, hoping for happiness on the condition that your impossibly theoretical scenarios come to pass, you’ll never be happy. Take some time to get into some therapeutic self-care with the little things, and see how they can make a big difference.

God bless you, have a great day!

Hey, thank you so much for reading! I’ve been writing these daily messages mostly consistently since August of 2016, always free of charge. If you would like to sign up and receive them by email every weekday (sent out at around 7 AM PT if nothing goes wrong), please click here. Enjoy!

--

--