Issues of a Mortal Muse

David Szigetvari
Morning Texts
Published in
2 min readFeb 5, 2019

Good morning!

Have you ever had a muse?

When it comes to art, a “muse” refers to a person, place, or thing (generally a person) that inspires you to be creative.

I remember, roughly 5 years or so, I had a classmate who inspired me to write short stories all the time, and I would bring them my amazing new ideas and walk away with feedback and a desire to take my writing talents and apply them to fictional short stories.

Here’s the problem though: when our muses are mortal, made of flesh and blood, we must become painfully aware that they are temporary. If nature inspires your creativity, the only thing you need to worry about is climate change, but if another human being is the source or inspiration of your creativity, you’ve got a problem.

People, regardless of what you do, will come and go as they please. Over time, you’ll experience dozens of “seasonal” friendships that will end, leaving small holes in your heart, but others will come to fill the gaps.

I don’t know how we can go about making God our muse, the source of our inspiration and the catalyst for our creativity, but I certainly would love to know that.

If you’re like me, and you’ve had a muse in the past who’s inspired you to pursue art and draw or sing or paint or sculpt or write, but lost your muse, I understand how you feel. You want to go back and “Do What You Love” (previous post), but you can’t seem to get inspired. Maybe we could pray for that to happen.

God bless you, have a great day!

--

--