The Concept of “Just Enough”

David Szigetvari
Morning Texts
Published in
2 min readFeb 6, 2019

Good morning!

Have you ever heard of the concept of “just enough”?

In the thirtieth chapter of the book of Proverbs, it’s almost as though God invites a guest speaker, someone we know as Agur, son of Jakeh.

Within his chapter as a guest speaker, he prays this:

“O God, I beg two favors from you; let me have them before I die. First, help me never to tell a lie. Second, give me neither poverty nor riches! Give me just enough to satisfy my needs. For if I grow rich, I may deny you and say, ‘Who is the Lord?’ And if I am too poor, I may steal and thus insult God’s holy name.”

Now, despite the fact that I do not believe wealth is inherently evil as long as it is stewarded correctly, I must agree with Agur’s wisdom that having “just enough” is far better than either alternative.

For example, I’ve had a problem with waking up in the morning for quite some time. I never want to be late when arriving at the office, and so I know I can’t set my alarms for the very last minute, as that will start my day with havoc. However, I am also aware that if and when I set my alarm too early, I end up climbing back in bed regardless of how late it rings, finally rushing out the door at the last minute. But, if I do what I did today and set my alarms at just the right time, I can get out of bed and get to the office on time without snoozing and without being either late or too early.

Whatever it is you need help with that’s severely unbalanced like this, maybe this will inspire you that there is a principle of “just enough” that might just help.

God bless you, have a great day!

--

--