The Need for Wise Counselors

If you don’t already have them, go get them.

David Szigetvari
Morning Texts
2 min readMay 2, 2019

--

Good morning!

Have you ever made a difficult decision that you wish you had thought more about?

One of the things I am adamant about in my life is the concept of having wise counselors—people, generally older than you, who can look into your situations from a bird’s eye view, removed from the emotional turmoil, and give you the wisdom to know what the right moves are.

When it comes to ordering food at a restaurant or deciding what toolset(s) to buy, I am perfectly capable on my own, but when it comes to major decisions that affect others in a profound way, I want counsel before moving on.

Every couple of months, I email a few key people in my life with a so-called “Life Update,” and meet with a couple others in person to tell them how I’ve been doing, what I’m going through at the moment or what challenges I may be facing, and when pressed by a difficult problem, I reach out to them for actual advice.

At the moment, being 20 years of age, I do not have too many responsibilities yet; I am not the CEO of a company or the pastor of a church, and my actions do not influence the lives of hundreds and/or thousands of lives, but I do want to one day be in a position of leadership, and in order to prepare for that, I absolutely believe that surrounding myself with people of wisdom and discernment is crucial to not just my well-being but also for keeping me on the “straight and narrow,” guiding me to be the best version of myself that I can be.

If you have mentors or leaders in your life that genuinely care about you and want to do whatever they can to help you succeed in life, reach out to them! Talk to the people with more life experience than you, see what they have to say about your situations, and you might just realize there’s a lot of wisdom you haven’t tapped into. And if you don’t have mentors yet, try to look for people that you can respect, and ask them for prayer or advice on something, perhaps starting a long-term relationship by doing so.

I’m nowhere near where I want to be in life 20 years from now, but I am doing everything I can right now to ensure that I have the proper trajectory. If you want to live life well and get the most out of it, I highly recommend that you surround yourself with wise counselors—and not just peers, but be intentional about finding some people that are older than you, they are most often anything but foolish.

God bless you, have a great day!

--

--