You Don’t Need More Information

If I want to live life to the fullest, I need to face my fears and do what I already know I must do.

Morning Texts
Published in
2 min readSep 1, 2020

--

Good morning!

Have you ever bought a book, thinking, “This is exactly what I need”, then buy three others shortly after?

I have. Way too many times. I have a beautiful collection of at least a dozen books that would be incredibly useful, full of knowledge and wisdom and information. Truly, the buying and reading of books has no end.

However, you’re not going to find what you need in a new book; you’re not going to just scroll endlessly on social media until you find the one online article that just changes your life.

While you may read something inspirational that might boost your energy for 2–4 hours, I don’t think you need any new information — future doctors, this doesn’t apply to you, get back to hitting the books.

You see, I’m pretty sure that you already have an idea of what you could be doing, or perhaps what you should be doing; you might even know what it is that you need to do, and you’re out there looking for more information, trying to escape the inevitable truth that you already know what it is, searching, grasping, hoping to find someone out there who tells you otherwise.

I’ll be transparent here for a bit and admit that for myself, I know I’m supposed to write and publish at least one book in the upcoming year, and though I’m fully aware and even capable of the task, I find myself doing anything but. And you know what? It’s a lot easier saying, “I don’t know what I need to do” than to admit, “I know what I need to do, I just can’t bring myself to do it.”

So hey, this morning, as you go about your day, think about this: What do you know you need to do that you’ve just been pushing off or running from?

Thanks and God bless, have a great week!

-/-/-/-

Thanks for tuning in! If you’d like to receive these posts as texts or emails, please email me at David@exhortations.net

--

--