I need it to rain

Amelie Bauer
Exist Freely
Published in
2 min readMar 8, 2022
Photo courtesy of Unsplash.

and rain down hard

crashing into me

take my glimmer with each splash as each drop slides down the surface of my skin

taking particles of me with it

plummeting in between my red painted toes to the grass where my feet are planted

the smell of green

fresh spring

wild flowers that almost remind me of crushed cranberry

red and orange tulips spiral around my feet

circling me like I am a performer

and they are my audience

such beauty is reflective of life

but the rain is plummeting down

and I need it to take some of me with it

to water the tulips that stand, circling me

in such an exquisite fashion

an arch of honeysuckle flowers cave over my head

as I tilt my head back to admire the beauty

carefully pulling the stems from inside a honeysuckle flower to discover such sweet nectar

letting it lace my lips before it reaches my tongue

spinning my tongue in clockwise circles to lick up the taste

from such growth

and time

letting spring rain down on me

grappling for my glimmer

to feed the beauty the lay around me

offering such promise

and I need this rain to take some of me with it

and transform me into the seeds for these flowers

to aid in my growth

I need this rain to come down hard

to sprinkle my face with such power

and take some of me with it

I need this rain now

please take some of me with you

--

--

Amelie Bauer
Exist Freely

Pervious Editor-in-Chief of her school newspaper and named number two student journalist in CO 2021. Writes poems, life lessons, and personal opinions.