Mind With Too Much Control

Amelie Bauer
Exist Freely
Published in
1 min readDec 20, 2022
Photo courtesy of Unsplash.

Who and what dictate your life

how is the power of the self

more powerful than your recognized self?

How come I break down when I see you come home with her,

even though,

you are obviously with me?

I feel like without routine I lose my mind

and become incapable of all things devine.

I spend my time wasting away,

telling myself that this is okay?

But what if I am just a person that needs more things happening at once?

My brain needs stimulation or else I have no fun.

I spent a lot of time alone

all those months ago, but now I struggle to stray from home.

Today I will fight this battle and make it a good day for myself.

A day that cannot be ruled by anyone else.

I will let the power I inflict on myself hold no more,

and practice my normal practices and find so much more.

--

--

Amelie Bauer
Exist Freely

Pervious Editor-in-Chief of her school newspaper and named number two student journalist in CO 2021. Writes poems, life lessons, and personal opinions.