One of those nights

Amelie Bauer
Exist Freely
Published in
May 17, 2022
Photo courtesy of Unsplash.

I am having one of those nights again

except it is harder to escape

I am a little worried because I feel everything

like a knot in my chest

and it is getting so very tight

but I cannot cry

I have had a hard time crying lately

it just doesn’t seem to work

and I don’t know why

I want to

but it is like

I am somehow

not letting

myself

I think I am ready to run away

I need this time to myself

So many things I will miss

but I gotta figure out my own head

for a little

while loving those who make life sparkle

from afar

because it is another one of those nights

that I can’t seem to get control over

--

--

Amelie Bauer
Exist Freely

Pervious Editor-in-Chief of her school newspaper and named number two student journalist in CO 2021. Writes poems, life lessons, and personal opinions.