Up Down & All Around

The spiral and movement of emotions in the body

Amelie Bauer
Exist Freely
2 min readDec 12, 2022

--

Photo courtesy of Unsplash.

Growing as a human is crucial and a significant part of being a human. When we experience growth, it comes in waves and moments. One second we believe we have come a long way, but the next, we may be halted. Learning to grow with growth is what makes life all worth while, but also extremely difficult.

While I do not plan to do a deep dive into this concept, I wish to touch on the growth journey that I know and observe it from the outside point.

I find it interesting that there can be months at a time where growing is a part of every day life. Sometimes, I feel like I hit a point where I have grown so much I begin to mellow out and can enjoy where I am now. The interesting this is that this progress can sometimes be reversed in a matter of hours.

An unexpected event happens and then all the sudden it feels like you are back to square one, but it confuses you because you have spent so much time coming so far. It is crazy how fast some things can unravel… kinda scary in my opinion. Not only can things unravel at an unexpected rate, but also you may also develop new negative patterns that were not there before. Talk about going back to square one and then having to fight an unexpected uphill battle.

I am really curious as to why these things happen. Where do they come from, these new negative feelings? It is like leveling up, but instead you level up in negative feelings. A question I have been pondering.

Like I said, this was meant to be a short discussion as I present a question. Thank you for taking the time to read.

--

--

Amelie Bauer
Exist Freely

Pervious Editor-in-Chief of her school newspaper and named number two student journalist in CO 2021. Writes poems, life lessons, and personal opinions.