When I am with them I feel like a still body of water

Amelie Bauer
Exist Freely
Published in
2 min readFeb 17, 2022
Photo courtesy of Unsplash.

a large body of water in particular

as if one second I was rippling and then the next I am still

as if one would never be able to tell that I was moving at all

and it feels really good

it feels peaceful and familiar

it feels like I have done this with them before

that this is someone who compliments me in more ways than just our similarities

I wonder who they are to me and who they will become

I wonder why it is that all the qualities I wrote down on a list are being met

each and every one

in all of their specifics

the list is as follows:

can make me laugh

attractive

intelligent

passionate

loves quality time

adventurous

wants me

has taken obvious and clear steps to let me know they are into me

doesn’t pay games

has similar values

athletic

speaks well and highly of me

makes time for me and put me first when appropriate

respects my boundaries

quality music taste

there is a connection

guitar

no judgement in serious situations

speaks to me with maturity, an equal

spontaneous enough

could survive a family reunion, sociable

brings personality traits and interests that are somewhat different than mine

supportive

someone that radiates a serene feeling when I think of them

is obviously a beautiful soul

and right when I realized that I had completely opened myself up

there they were

the opportunity was served in front of me

in the exact moment I felt completely vibrant

that vibrancy was a feeling I was told I would have when the person I had been waiting for was said to enter my life

and opportunity arose

and it was spectacular

each and every memory made so far

dancing under the stars

with someone I am so infatuated with

and that makes me feel serene.

--

--

Amelie Bauer
Exist Freely

Pervious Editor-in-Chief of her school newspaper and named number two student journalist in CO 2021. Writes poems, life lessons, and personal opinions.