TRAVEL: “Ribbon in the Sky” from Sequoia National Park

Hayata @ Exit H Dreams
Exit H Dreams
Published in
2 min readJan 2, 2021
Hazy Sierra Foothills (Photo by Hayata Takeshita)

I took this shot on my first trip to Sequoia National Park which is in the Sierra Nevada Range between Yosemite and Death Valley. It’s a heck of a drive uphill to about 7000 feet.

A COLD DAY 🧊

It was a cold day in December 2017. On my first visit to a location I generally figure out someway to scope out the area. This time I took a guided tour around the Giant Forest area in the early afternoon. The hiking was tough at 7000 feet and I had to stop often to catch my breadth.

THE COLORS 🌈

Part of the tour walked along a ridge that overlooked the Central Valley. I noticed this band of color in the clouds that did not fade away. This persisted all afternoon. Notice that this shot is not a sunset shot. The brightest part is near the top which means the sun is well above the horizon.

THE HAZE 🌫

After the tour, I looked for a good spot to take a photograph of the colorful clouds. I found a spot called Beetle Rock which turned out to be a cool location. This is where I noticed the haze over the foothills in the distance that added a cool abstract texture and a sense of depth.

THE SHOT 🌄

I framed up a shot that included the near mountains to add even more depth.⁠ The mountains also bring down the viewer’s eye to the foothills and creates the story of the photo which shows the Hazy Sierra Foothills.

P.S. This image is available as a canvas print on my Etsy shop. Click here.

--

--

Hayata @ Exit H Dreams
Exit H Dreams

Let's talk about how nature, art and photography travel together.