Erinn Geyer
EXP50: Social Media
1 min readNov 16, 2015

--

The first chapter, “The Revolution That Wasn’t” of The Big Disconnect asks why the interactive nature of the Internet has not changed politics for the better (p.44). Yet, why should it? Since when does more access to information ensure higher accuracy and quality of the information? And what does better American politics actually mean? Might we attribute the election of the first non-white President to the US “better politics”? I think so. Might the Internet have had something to do with Barack Obama’s success in two elections? I think so. Americans got to know Obama beyond his skin color, I believe, because the Internet gave more people more access to his vision with a click. From my fingertips while taking a break from studying, for example, I could read about his views on healthcare that affected me — rather than waiting for my biased newspaper the next day or wading through a boring debate on national TV. The Internet lets me examine the current presidential candidates quite closely, all at my leisure when the time is right for me…and that’s better politics, in my opinion.

--

--