Expat Empire Podcast 11 | Personal Update #1

David McNeill
Expat Empire
Published in
3 min readJun 3, 2019

Listen to the Podcast Now

Episode Description

Today you will be hearing a quick update from David, the host of the Expat Empire Podcast, as to some news in his life as well as what to expect from the podcast in the next few months.

Eli Hermit produced the music for this episode, please check him out at elihermit.bandcamp.com/. Learn more about Expat Empire at expatempire.com! Thanks for your continued support and we will be back with more episodes soon!

Episode Transcript

Hi everyone, and welcome to the 11th episode of the Expat Empire Podcast. I’m your host, David McNeill, and this episode will be a little bit different than the last 9 episodes. I spent the last weeks preparing to release a new episode with an interview I had recorded many months ago but did not have the time or mind space to complete it in the way I hoped to. Instead of trying to release something that was not up to the standards that I set for this podcast, I decided to make this short episode to update you on my current situation so that you can understand a bit better why there has been a longer than usual time between episodes as well as what to expect in the next few months.

So, let’s get to it. To put it bluntly, my life has become very busy in the last few months. In addition to the Expat Empire website and this podcast, I have a full-time job, other projects to manage, and a social life to attempt to maintain.

On top of all of that, my new wife and I have been planning our wedding since my proposal last December. We just spent a week in Japan seeing the sights, meeting her family, and getting legally married, and now our focus has turned to coordinating a big party here in Berlin with friends and family from abroad later this month. There is still a lot to plan for that, but we are making progress and are eagerly anticipating getting everyone together to celebrate.

While all of that may sound like a lot already, there is more. In addition to all of the above, there have been some changes at my company that affect my position, and so I have spent the last weeks looking for new opportunities in new horizons. I do not have much that I can say about that situation at this time, but I will be sure to let you know when I have news to share.

In the end, all of these things piling up, one on top of another, has led to a situation where I simply have too much on my plate and have had to make some tough choices. Unfortunately, the result of that process was to scale back the time I am spending on Expat Empire until the pressure lightens up a bit. I expect to be back with new episodes later this summer and can’t wait to share them with you, but I will have to ask for your understanding about this silence in the meantime. Thank you all for your continued support of Expat Empire and please stay tuned for updates in the coming months. Talk to you soon!

Originally published at https://expatempire.com on June 3, 2019.

--

--

David McNeill
Expat Empire

Inspiring and helping people to move abroad. Founder @ Expat Empire. Entrepreneur, consultant, speaker, author & podcaster.