The UK weather forecast…

Omar Parada
Expat Life
Published in
2 min readAug 29, 2013

…is mostly cloudy, always. Don’t underestimate the British weather. Even British people hate it. After a few years here I understand why they come to Spain for holidays or retirement. Why as soon there is a bit of sun, they all go outside to catch a bit of energy from our star. Winters are miserable, someone told me when I arrived here.

When I first came here, in summer, it was glorious!. In Madrid we were having 38 degrees and here almost 20 something. My family and friends in Madrid were sweating like pigs and I was riding my bike along the town with a perfect breeze of fresh air in my face. That was the last glorious British summer I’ve seen here. I don’t know what happened the other next ones, but to me they weren't summers. And it is said that I live in the driest area of the UK! We have had even a drought alert! This people don’t know what a real drought is… Yes, it is true that it doesn't rain as often as in other places in the UK, but there is a constant humidity, and sometimes drizzle, that mixed with cold temperatures and constant grey skies makes Winters….miserable indeed.

My wife loves to watch weather forecasts. I don’t know why, everybody has their own hobbies and interests. I think she is going to start a blog about the subject. I will keep you posted about it. Her favourite website is BBC Weather. In Spain, this things are terribly boring. Everyday almost the same. Today: sun, Tomorrow: more sun, the same one as today, etc. Here, the weather can change a lot during the day. That say of “Four seasons in a day” is absolutely true. A few days ago we had periods of sun, rain and snow changing every one or two hours, in the same day. It was maddening. Here you don’t know exactly what to wear in the mornings, but it is advised to have some layered clothes, just in case, so you can start peeling yourself like an onion. If you wear sunglasses in the morning, later in the day they may be of no use at all.

But I am adapting slowly to this situation, I think. I can ride my bike in the worst snowy day without complaining (almost, only falling to the ground once or twice per year). I’m still not able to go out in T-Shirt this wintry days, neither my wife can wear mini skirts and beach sandals, as people do here when the sun shines a bit with below zero temperatures. But, when I go to Spain now, I found it a bit warmer than before, even in winter. Maybe it is that climate change thing, I’m not sure. Sometimes, at home, I point a hair dryer to my face, remembering how summers were in Spain. I even start to appreciate the weather forecasts…

(This post first appeared in my blog).

--

--