2 Bedrooms to 2 Suitcases

Karen Espig
Expat Notebooks
Published in
5 min readJun 25, 2021

--

Downsizing for my international move.

Photo by Erwan Hesry on Unsplash

I am preparing for my move from Canada to Europe. I will be vacating my apartment to temporary lodgings on January 1 until my flight out, which I anticipate will be in March. I am very excited about the adventure ahead.

My plan is to have everything I need in a large suitcase, a carry-on backpack, and a purse. Since I will also be transporting Vincent, my cat, in a carrier, and my guitar in a case, my hands will be more than full as I travel. I expect it will be very ungraceful, and I sincerely hope no one is paying any attention to my travel-weary, introverted self as I negotiate the airport.

To move this along, I am now making “sell, donate, trash” decisions about everything else in my apartment. I will be placing my finished paintings in storage until I have a more permanent housing situation, but I will be renting the smallest unit available that can house the artwork — the very little bit of extra space will allow for only the dearest of mementos.

How to proceed without getting overwhelmed?

I believe this to be impossible. My strategy, therefore, is to work on reducing until overwhelm sets in; pause, and repeat. This is why I’m starting now, six months out. I expect that it will be difficult to make meaningful decisions in the…

--

--

Karen Espig
Expat Notebooks

I am a contemporary figure painter. I am also a Canadian Expat currently in France. I write about expat life, relationships, and online dating.