Smitten by Simon & Garfunkel

Karishma Subhash
Experience Simon & Garfunkel
2 min readJan 29, 2015

I don’t know what they say about “music.” I am not the “influencer” on the music front (Speaking strictly in the context of social media platforms). According to me, ones sense of music is ascribed. So is mine, I am no exception.

Listening to music is soothing, has a calming effect and blah blah.. like we all know. So, I started getting my dose by following the soundtracks of movies that I watch (Yes to the budding cinephile in me). I first came across this massive phenomenon that Simon & Garfukel are when I first watched the musical coming of age movie — Almost Famous. From the vinyl cover to the lyrics of “America…” How I loved them!

However, I did not do any follow up on their music, their history, none. But today, I struck a conversation with a fellow Instagrammer and he happened to use one of Simon & Garfunkel’s track for his video which goes by the title “Angie.”

Thus, began my morning being smitten to the works of these legends. I am no music connoisseur, hence I don’t expect you to take my word but their tunes do not have a sense of deindividuation to them. They are untouched unlike our immensely popular genres.

With all due respect to their work, I am going to name a few favorites. Do check them out and let me know.
1. Angie (Ofcourse!)

2. Somewhere they can’t find me

3. A hazy shade of winter

4. El Condor Pasa

5. Mrs. Robinson

Feel free to leave your opinions and comments.

--

--