INTRODUCTION

Kelsey Schwanke
Struck
Published in
2 min readOct 6, 2017

Ahem,

Hello. My name is Kelsey.

I am what is known as a “creative” . meaning I sometimes have good ideas and sometimes people pay me.

I graduated from Utah State University (go Aggies) in 2017 with a degree in graphic design.

If you want to know more about me, you have to know my past, so we’re going back in time.

I’m the second-oldest out of 5 siblings. My parents did a pretty good job keeping up with all of us, considering our active suburban lifestyle. I had a killer childhood. My hobbies included dancing, track, basketball, horseback riding, tennis, volleyball, yoga, chess, and drawing.

I started drawing when I was fairly young, and I consider it my true love. My brothers and I would spend hours sketching comic books up in our loft. Most of the comics involved us trying to recreate our favorite video game, or cartoon characters in various stories. Because I started drawing at such a young age, and that I did it for fun, I think I started to develop a style.

When it came time for me to choose a career to pursue though, I totally copped out.

I started my college career pursuing a degree in nursing, and although human anatomy fascinated me, the medical field lacked the creative opportunities I wanted. This happened AGAIN when I switched my focus to elementary education. Nothing about the degree interested me besides the study of human cognition.

So I switched my study path one last time, and gave the visual arts a shot. My combined interests of both problem-solving and visual communication lead me to discover graphic design.

And wa-la, here I am!

I’m stoked to intern for Struck, and I’m excited to learn and grow in the design field.

Thanks for reading!

--

--