Why I Switched From Juul To A Competing E-Cig Company’s Products

Victor Johnson
Experienced Vaper
Published in
3 min readDec 17, 2018

For me, a former smoker who finally switched to vaping after too many years of huffing down cigarettes, Juul’s products have been of great benefit. They really helped me seal the deal when it came to making the switch. But after puffing on their USB-looking electronic cigarette and its corresponding prefilled pods for some time now, I’ve finally thrown in the towel and made the move to another e-cig company’s vaping products. Here’s why.

Too Much Nicotine

Juul’s vapes are designed to work exclusively with Juul brand pods, which are known as Juulpods. These e-liquid filled pods, which are also known as vape cartridges, contain an extremely high level of nicotine. While the 5% nicotine strength that they tout might not seem like much, in comparison to other e-liquids on the market- it is. It’s a ton of nicotine. An absolutely ridiculous amount by my account. For the smoker that’s trying to make the switch, this may be a benefit as it ensures that an adequate (or perhaps much more than adequate) amount of nicotine is delivered to the user.

Now I’ve read, and this could be wrong, that this 5% translates into between 55–60 milligrams of nicotine per milliliter of juice. That is, again, really high. Which is why I’ve switched to another company’s e-cigarettes and vape juice.

To put this in perspective, I’m now vaping e-liquids that have 6mg of nicotine per milliliter. Obviously, this is dramatically less nicotine. Now here’s what else I’ve noticed since switching.

More E-Juice Flavors & Nicotine Strengths To Choose From, Including Nicotine-Free

Juul’s pods are only available in a limited selection of flavors. There aren’t many to choose from and there isn’t much in way of nicotine strength options either. These two limiting factors are big downsides from my perspective as a vaper who prefers his freedom over confinement.

After switching to Vaper Empire’s Vibe Series, a portable e-liquid vape with a large tank and a large battery to match, I’ve lost out a bit on portability as it’s quite cumbersome in comparison. Though, I should note that it’s still highly portable and easily carried about, just that it’s not quite as compact as a Juul device. But beyond this, thanks to its design, I now have access to the world’s extremely wide variety of e-juices, which gives me access to a seemingly endless array of flavors and nic strengths to choose from. On top of this, I can even mix my own e-juices, combining flavors that I like to create the perfect concoctions to fit my palate.

Adding to this, I now have the option of vaping nicotine-free e-liquids, which I occasionally do. Vaper Empire, the company that makes the vape I use as well as a number of the e-liquids that I puff on, has a wide variety of e-liquid flavors and they’re all available in varying nicotine strengths. This is a far cry from what Juul offers and a more than welcome change after using Juul’s products for so long.

My Suggestion To Vapers

If you haven’t already, I suggest trying some of the vapes out there that offer open systems that allow you to choose virtually any e-juice you want. Juul’s highly limiting factor is the fact that their flagship vape is designed to work exclusively with the company’s own, non-refillable pods, which limits users to whatever flavors and nicotine strengths that they offer. Once you’ve tried an open system with its seemingly endless options in terms of juice and nicotine strength, you may never go back to a closed system like that of the Juul device and its pods. But then again, you may prefer their closed system and others like it. All I’m suggesting is that you take a look at what other options you have, give them a try, and see if you can’t find a better solution for all your vaping needs.

--

--