EXPERIMENT WITH A CHEMIST — #12

How Do You Know You’re in the Good Old Days Before You Actually Left Them?

I answer Andy Bernard’s classic conundrum

Ken Li
Experiment With A Chemist
2 min readMar 29, 2024

--

Sign saying Scranton welcomes you
What if we could make every day of our lives “the good old days?” Source: Wikipedia Commons.

Note: This is vol. #12 of my “Experiment With a Chemist” newsletter, which shares my trials, errors, and lessons learned. Repurposed here on Medium.

The problem with the good *old* days is that they’re over.

They’re past tense.

To find a solution, let’s travel to the future.

I made a video to help me imagine what life as a successful life coach might look like.

If you watch the first 23 seconds, you’ll see these three emotions I wanted once I reached my goal:

  • Alive
  • Powerful
  • In Awe

But, here’s the thing:

You don’t need to wait until you’ve reached your goal to have the feelings you want.

You can feel them right now.

How does one do that?

It’s important to understand that emotions are created by our thoughts.

Generate a sentence in your brain (a thought) and it manifests itself as a vibration in your body (an emotion).

--

--

Ken Li
Experiment With A Chemist

Confidence coach for professionals stuck in their careers. Let’s chat: bit.ly/chatwithKen.