Why I Decided the World Needs Capsule

Experimental Civics
Experimental Civics
5 min readJan 20, 2020

Author: Sarah Sharif, Experimental Civics

In a recent report released by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), a panel of scientific experts concluded there is greater than 95 percent probability that human activities over the past 50 years have warmed our planet. My natural instinct after reading this was to protect the planet I love and to wake up the world to the simple truth how there is no reset button for Earth.

Synthesizing the truth for myself gave me the clarity I needed to move to direct action; I created Capsule to address our climate crisis issues and reduce human suffering from the extreme weather catastrophes.

Capsule is a world record-breaking hackathon that will be held in June 2020 designed to generate community-driven solutions that address complex climate problems impacting our planet. A 4,000 attendee hackathon will break the existing record and set a new precedent for how we should collaborate and work together to solve the complex challenges ahead.

Hackathons are action-oriented design sprints where people bring ideas to life. Capsule will energize solutions for our climate crisis from artificial intelligence projects around energy to carbon cycle education for youth. Capsule will also explore the hidden intersections seldom discussed between our environment and the arts, our food, our health, and our future lifestyles.

Events on the scale of Capsule are nuanced and involve the collaboration of many different groups and stakeholders; However, every movement starts with an idea. This is how my idea emerged.

Time to Rise and Shine

Catastrophes do not discriminate, and with these past extreme weather conditions occurring everywhere in the world, from heat waves, droughts, and other abnormalities, I know we were fast approaching a time when superficial contributions to curb effects will fail terribly unless we act now.

I wanted to increase the level of visibility, transparency, and more importantly, the commitment to global community partnerships if we were to be successful in the long-term. Recognizing the need to establish new, fresh methodology for engaging real people across industries and sectors: governments, corporations, nonprofits, startups, and universities, I instantly knew what I had to do, but was I ready to bring everything together in one accumulating project?

My answer shocked me, but it was my truth and the answer was yes. I had a moment of unnerving clarity.

I was ready to rise up to this challenge and in many ways it was meant for me. I’d worked incredibly hard over the past six years, but scaling my innovation consultancy over these past two years polished my skills in ways I couldn’t have dreamed of.

I know there are other female entrepreneurs out there who understand this experience too. You are enough, you are ready, and it’s time to step into the light.

And I took that step with grace, pride, and shine.

I was on the phone with a colleague, Elyssa Turner, when the inspiration hit me hard and within minutes, Elyssa and I mapped out several big causes we could tackle to get the world’s attention while also demonstrating the power of hackathons and the power behind people united.

Over the next 3 weeks, I scheduled 18 meetings with my inner circle, and I had gained enough insight to begin crafting materials to throw the world’s largest civic hackathon to develop solutions to address our current climate crisis. Sometimes things fall into place and you just have to follow the path of least resistance and go with the flow.

We’re now into heavy planning. From speaking at Oxford University to co-authoring a blog with The Earth Hacks Foundation and the United Nations, I’m amazed at the conversations I’m having with people from all over the world. Hackathons are a place where I have always encountered the creative spirit of humanity and witnessed how collaborating together can bring about impact which can’t be made alone and in the shadows.

Time to Hold a Guinness World Record

I was asked by a stranger why I was even considering this (granted, his tone was more condescending with a “who are you” vibe). I challenged this person back and asked why not. Capsule is a chance to inspire the world, raise the profile of hackathons, and develop innovative solutions to address our impending climate crisis.

I’ve hosted, directed, supported, and volunteered at countless hackathon events in my career. I respect the sprint nature of hackathons and all the benefits that include cutting edge innovation with human-centered design, rapid prototyping, collective intellectual juice, and networking with progressive, passionate, and talented people inspired to make a change.

Capsule is meant to stretch my own hackathon logistical skills and material and resource sourcing abilities and offer a completely new experience. I aim to stretch even the conference experience to encompass inclusivity in new ways and ensure the event is zero waste despite the massive crowd.

Capsule is also an opportunity to bring everyone together eliminating siloed efforts.This is why our planning committee has members hailing from across the country, including New York, Austin, Boston, and San Francisco. We’ve also scored community partners across 5 continents. Our problems are growing ever more complex and now is the time to go big and think global.

Replacing the Helpless Feeling with Hope

I am not afraid of our impending climate crisis. I am filled with determination because I know that we need to unite and become more adaptable than ever, but I am also confident that we can do this. I was too young to have a voice in the decisions made before me, but I’ll be damned if I let carelessness continue on my watch.

I know that change is possible. I’ve seen my habits change with just a few months of effort; I naturally recycle items, I cook using as much of the food as I can to limit waste, I’ve used my purchasing power to support the products and companies whose missions and practices I support, I’ve started bringing reusable containers to restaurants, and am now using metal straws.

Why are we doing this? Because everyone deserves clean air to breathe, access to tasty and healthy food, and the opportunity to explore Earth’s wonders. Everyone has the right to be healthy — and not just those who inhabit the Earth today, but also future generations.

--

--

Experimental Civics
Experimental Civics

⚙Innovation Institute & Consultancy ⚙ Propelling organizations forward as Innovators -> experimentalcivics.io