When Are You At Your Most Unproductive?

Paul Taylor
What I’m Thinking
1 min readJul 24, 2017

Three years on and my post wishing for The Death of The Office seems to be having a second wind with a lot of shares over the weekend.

Why do people have such a problem with the office?

I reckon it’s because most people get a kick out of being productive and the office just isn’t conducive to that. It’s been made worse by a slew of badly designed tech sending us notifications all day long. Today we are more unproductive than we’ve ever been.

What’s Your Worst Possible Day?

I’ve been thinking a lot about what makes me happy at work but a good starting point is understanding what makes you unhappy.

This is my worst possible day:

Long meetings

Having a packed calendar with no time to think

Having a full email inbox

Producing work I don’t believe in

Being confined to the office

Being stuck in traffic

Being tired

Maybe by sharing what makes you unhappy we can create a better balance at work for ourselves — and those around us.

--

--

Paul Taylor
What I’m Thinking

Innovation Coach and Co-Founder of @BromfordLab. Follow for social innovation and customer experience.